Top 10 Classic Rock Songs

This is the prettiest thing that you get when you Google “classic rock”. The rest is pretty grim.

Classic rock. Sometimes dripping with meaning and social causes. Sometimes simple, repetitive waves of awesomeness that wash over your aural existance for 5, 10, 30 or so minutes. Always awesome. Always trying to get laid. Always succeeding.

Here is an utterly biased balance of epic, nostalgia-provoking, top ten ultimate classic rock songs (defined as Mid-60s-80s). I omitted the Beatles, funk, rap, and stayed pretty mainstream with my list, heavily favoring the songs that I remember blowing my mind (or at least becoming lodged in there an provoking some change) when I first heard them on the radio. If I had to write this again next week, it would be a completely different list. They may not be my favorite songs by any of these artists, but they show off their awesome side, and probably made them more greatly appreciated by a wider audience (thus getting them more sex). And isn’t that what it is all about?

Presented in an order I think they would be fun to listen to. Screw ordered lists, these are all awesome:

01. Subterranean Homesick Blues (Bob Dylan) One must appreciate this with the video.

02. Somebody To Love (Jefferson Airplane) They, more than most bands, sound like classic rock/a product of this era.

03. Since You’ve Been Gone (Rainbow) YES. YESSSS. Stuck in my head for YEARS.

04. Paradise By The Dashboard Light (Meatloaf) “We’re gonna go all the way tonight tonight” Epic. Meatloaf. Sexy times.

05. Suffragette City (David Bowie) It was seriously a coin-toss about which Bowie I would pick…this was the more “popular” one.

06. Jessica (The Allman Brothers Band) – Roadtrip music.

07. Voodoo Child (The Jimi Hendrix Experience) – Oh that guitar.

08. Bell-Bottom Blues (Derek & the Dominos) Literally the first song that I thought of when I was tasked with making this list. Nearly my definition of classic rock.

09. Ten Years Gone (Led Zeppelin)–Shit, I could have crafted this list exclusively from Zeppelin songs, and we all know it would be totally acceptable. I think I love this song because it combines the quiet with the desperate, withholding its direction for as long as possible, feeling incomplete and full at the same time.

10. Someone to Love (Queen) – Just…fuck.

Honorable Mentions:

Debora (T.Rex)  Laa laaa laaa laaa laaaaa.
Strangers (The Kinks)
Roundabout (Yes) I always remember this song being more awesome than it actually is.
Box of Rain (Grateful Dead) –I am not much of a Deadhead, but their influence can’t be ignored. And this song is nice. : ]
Five Years (David Bowie) – For a song that takes on the task of defining the Ziggy Stardust universe, gosh this is good.
Babe, I’m Going To Leave You (Led Zeppelin)– I needed them at their most epic, since I picked one that didn’t entirely melt face in the actual list.
Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Pink Floyd) Epic. Lazy, old, and hopeful.
Looking Out My Back Door (Creedence Clearwater Revival) — Infectious smiles. Every time.

Pure Nostalgia Honorable Mention:

God Gave Rock and Roll To You (Kiss) –  Be excellent to one another.

Coming up next: PsychoLarry’s rebuttal
Coming up next-next: My Top 10 Classic Rock songs that are more beautiful than face melting.

One response to “Top 10 Classic Rock Songs

Leave a Reply

