Guest Cooking: Udon Noodles

My friend Veganette wanted to show off her cooking skills too!

We’ll see what she had to say under the cut.
The recipe was pulled from The Urban Vegan by Dynise Balcabage

Spicy Udon Noodles:
Sauce:
1 tablespoon vegan sate paste
2 heaping tablespoons creamy peanut butter (1-2 extra tablespoons)
3 tablespoons soy sauce (2-3 tablespoons extra)
3 tablespoons water (2-3 tablespoons extra)
Splash of dark sesame oil
Splash ume vinegar
Pinch chili pepper

Base:
1 large onion, thinly sliced
1 cup frozen, shelled edamame
2-inch piece ginger, sliced
2 cloves garlic, slices
1 pound udon noodles
fresh coriander or parsley for garnish
One package of extra firm tofu
One – Two stalks of Broccoli

1. In a medium bowl, whisk all the sauce ingredients together until smooth.
2. Cut tofu into one inch squares
3. Coat tofu with soy sauce
4. Bake tofu at 375 for 20min each side or until golden on the outside.
5. Fill a large pot with water. Add onion, edamame, ginger, and garlic and bring to boil. Add noodles and cook according to package directions.
6. Add Broccoli to noodles for last five minutes of cooking time.
7. Drain, toss everything with sauce, top with herbs and enjoy with chopsticks.

Because I’m Jeff’s friend (at least he tolerates me) and because I’m vegan (something I’m sure he also tolerates) he has allowed me to present my latest culinary excursion on his blog: Spicy Udon Noodles. Last week, my friend Katie and I wanted to cook a nice meal. Since we both live in Park Slope in Brooklyn and we are both vegan, it was easy deciding where to shop for our animal friendly ingredients. After much debate, we agreed upon Spicy Udon Noodles from my Urban Vegan cookbook (a great Christmas present from by best friend, Sharon. So thanks Sharon for a great collection of recipes).

The original recipe called for ginger, onion, and edamame to be mixed in with the noodles, but we would want more veggies than that. We added broccoli and baked tofu to the mix to give a little variety to our noodles and get some protein into our diet. Our additions to the recipe made it necessary to make more sauce about 1 ½ to 2 times what the original recipe calls for, I also like my noodles swimming in sauce so doubling the sauce was completely necessary.  I love spicy food so instead of a wimpy ‘pinch’ of chili peppers, as the recipe calls for, we chopped up two Serrano chili peppers and threw them into the conglomeration. I do realize that we crossed genres a little with the Serrano chilies (Mexican into Asian) but who doesn’t like a little cultural diversity in their food choices? Also, I had some Serrano chilies left over from a few days before that I was itching to use, so voila, now our noodles are spicy.

The Noodles turned out awesome and I would absolutely make them again.  The extra sauce helped with more flavor for the added veggies.  Next time I might try adding different veggies just to see how it tastes but the combination I used this time was really good.

Leave a Reply

